Engineer & Entertain

Ideas I grapple with

The doc is making his rounds

Most everyone has heard the song “Cats in the Cradle.” Essentially it is about a father that’s to busy for his son, was never there for him, and in the end, regrets it. I am beginning to feel that I am experiencing a syndrome similar to it.
In high school I felt as though I was always there for people. Now I don’t feel that I am there for anyone. This may be due to the fact that I am always somewhere studying or concentrating on some other aspect. My middle name Edward means guard and while I have lived up to it in the sense that I have guarded people by volunteering as security, or working as a medic in the Rescue Squad. It was fun doing those things, making rounds and making sure everyone was ok, but when was the last time that I made real rounds? Making sure that my friends are fine and that their lives are sweet and sassy? When did I start using the phrase sweet and sassy?
My Grandpa was named Edward and he lived up to his namesake by helping anyone and everyone with anything and everything. He wanted a grandchild with the first name of Edward, not the middle name. Right now I am glad to have it as a middle name just because I am not living up to the legacy he set up with the name.
In short, if I haven’t been there I am sorry. If you need me or want me there just talk. Doctors make rounds every couple of hours, and hopefully soon this doc will make his rounds.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The doc is making his rounds

  1. The truth

    Wasn’t your grandpa’s name edwardo, like a mexican name, since you are a mexican? Or is this the side of the family that works in the submarine factory and installs screen doors on them

Leave a Reply

