Engineer & Entertain

Ideas I grapple with

Morvan’s would make this easier

For a lack of a better term, I am a slack ass (I am too lazy look up a better term).  I am not working because I am a school nurse and I have the summers off.  Given the circumstances of my original employment I was not sure if I should search for a summer job or a different place of employment.  I have acquired neither.

 

With a lack of a job and plenty of spare time I have decided to embark on an experiment.  I am going to see how long I can go without sleep.  My intention is to see how long I can go without sleep although I will cease if my overt safety becomes an issue.  Or I get a job interview.

 

I say experiment but this is hardly an experiment.  Experiments test observations and investigate questions.  Experiments consider noble pursuits like finding the structure of insulin, presenting theories of economic equilibrium, or why you can only fold paper in half seven times.  This is more akin to an Iron Man.  I am curious to see how long I can go rather than what happens if I go so long.  I will monitor my physiology and my ability to play Brain Age – clearly there are no real metrics.  It’s ok, as this is not a real experiment.

 

I do not expect to break the eleven day record.  Guinness no longer recognizes any attempt to break the record although they do produce delicious stout.  The only people to have died from a lack of sleep had a rare familial disorder (fatal familial insomnia).  For everyone else who does not have a rare, prion related sleep disorder it appears you can stay up as long as you can endure without the side effect of death.  My intent is to simply see how long I can go without a visit from Morpheus.  My personal record is 72 hours.  Typically anything longer than 72 hours requires extreme will and my thinking slows down like a computer with a virus.  At this point in time I presume sleep is a better idea rather than further forcing my brain to do . . . you know – things. 

 

Thus far, I have been awake a little bit more than 24 hours.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Morvan’s would make this easier

  1. Anonymous on said:

    Good Luck

    I wish you the best in this endeavor. I’m actually very curious to see how long you last.
    I’m planning on going to a conference in a week or so at MSRI, and I’m going to try to stay up for 36 hours because I can get my hotel bill down $300 that way.

    Happy Consciousness,

    Jamie

  2. Anonymous on said:

    Shouldn’t it be the record for the most days without sleep without dying? Because once you die you can go without sleep for a long time. In fact, I’m pretty sure Og, the first anatomically modern human who got mauled by something, is the record holder.

    – PK

  3. I had thought to try the same exercise this summer, with the added element of trying to write a story over the sleepless time to see how my writing suffered (or improved!) I support the use of Brain Age as a light tracking tool as well. Good luck sir, and God speed if applicable!

Leave a Reply

