Engineer & Entertain

Ideas I grapple with

Google Reader has been read

First they came for Google Notebook, and I didn’t speak out because I used pen and paper.

Then they came for Google Health, and I didn’t speak out because I used a spreadsheet to track my health

Then they came for Google Wave, and I didn’t speak out because like others I wasn’t sure what it was for.

Then they came for Google Reader, and now I am not sure I know how to read the Internet.

Google Reader is a ritual for me. Men of yesteryear read the newspaper first thing in the morning; I had Google Reader.  It effortlessly brought me news, satirical news, updates on my friend building a program to play bridge, and all the cat videos I could stand.

I know – all things are impermanent. And I have heard all the axioms before:

  • The problem with being a user is that you are only a user.
  • If the service is free then you are the product.

I also know that Google is a search company which provides data to advertisers, but it felt like this is one of a few products Google nailed. It was simple and elegant.

I feel you, Adolf.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

